top of page

BREAKING!!! COVID-19: S’West Govs Shut All Regional Land Borders

Governors of the six South West states have ordered the closure of all entry points into the region, with immediate effect.

The six Southwestern states include Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo.

In a statement made available to newsmen on Sunday, the governors said the move is to check the spread of coronavirus in South West.

The Governors also declared wearing of nose masks compulsory in all the six states of the region with effect from 24th April.

They equally resolved to take further combined efforts to jointly tackle the dreaded COVID-19 pandemic in the region.

According to report, the decisions were reached at a virtual meeting of the governors on Thursday.

Besides, the governors announced the dissolution of the Board of Directors of O’DUA Investment Limited, a regional conglomerate bequeathed to the states by the old Western Region.

In a statement personally signed by Ondo State Governor and Chairman of the South West Governors’ Forum, Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu, the governors however, mandated the Group Managing Director of the conglomerate to be in charge of the business venture before a new board is constituted.

“The South West Governors at its virtual meeting held on Thursday 16th April, 2020 resolved as follows:

“That as owner state Governors we dissolve the Board of Directors of ODUA Investment Limited with immediate effect. The Group Managing Director should take charge of the affairs of the conglomerate pending the constitution of a new Board.

“That the entry points of our six states be closed forthwith to contain the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.

“We also agreed that people involved in essential services or dealing in medicine, water and consumable items in particular, traders and market men/women should endeavour to wear nose masks while outside plying their trade to minimize the spread of the deadly virus.

“The Governors further agreed that wearing of nose masks will be made compulsory for everybody coming out of their homes effective from Friday 24th April, 2020 in their respective states.”


Featured Posts
Follow Me
bottom of page